I am a democrat, I don’t want communism, English, Yes, No I don’t know, Kizungu sikijui

That’s from a Frank Humplick song, banned by the British colonial authorities. Check out the lyrics at John Kitime’s superb blog, Wanamuziki Tanzania (Swahili required, though not for the youtube links).

What are the Congo connections? Need a primer on women musicians in Tanzania down the years? Where can I get those pants?

Visit today, visit again, if Tanzania’s ever changing and ever resilient music scene is what gets you going.

This is the best thing since the column Wakongwe Wetu in II Proud’s short lived Deiwaka newspaper.

2 responses to “I am a democrat, I don’t want communism, English, Yes, No I don’t know, Kizungu sikijui

  1. Kumbe, enzi zile zilikuwa na mambo! Super blog from a king of guitar. Magic photos. A great contribution to the tiny (but growing) interweb presence of Tanzania…

Leave a Reply

